Showing Matador Spirit at the 57th Annual Staff Service Awards

  • Audience sits in chairs and hold red pom poms in the air.

    Staff members cheered for one another with their CSUN pom-poms. Photo by Sonia Gurrola.

  • Nick Alexander from Enrollment Management stands on stage to receive the CSUN Leadership Award. Photo by Sonia Gurrola.

  • Three staff members place roses on the matador statue.

    Roses were placed by the foot of the matador statue to celebrate the achievements of the staff members. Photo by Sonia Gurrola.

  • Matty the Matador and Kevin Lizarraga from Marketing and Communications arrive at the ceremony and walk down the red carpet. Photo by Sonia Gurrola.

  • Staff members stand in front of a picture of the matador statue and hold red and white clappers that say

    A group of staff members show off their Matador spirit! Photo by David J. Hawkins.

At the 57th annual Staff Service & Recognition of Excellence Awards on June 6, university leaders recognized more than 300 CSUN employees for their contributions on campus and their years of service.

The University Student Union was packed with eager staff members. Tables were filled with pom-poms and other CSUN goodies, for attendees to show their Matador spirit. Attendees chatted over coffee and breakfast sandwiches, greeting colleagues after completion of a busy spring semester. CSUN President Erika D. Beck was on hand to address the crowd and express her gratitude.

Staff members were honored for their years of service, which ranged from five to 50 years. Judith Friedman, from the Department of Psychology in the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences, celebrated and was honored for her 50 years of service to CSUN.

Steve Dan (Information Technology), Patricia Drasin (National Center of Deafness) and Mark Loomis (Physical Plant Management) were recognized for their 40 years of service.

A number of staff members also received Recognition of Excellence Awards. The 2023 award recipients are as follows:

CSUN Presidential Award — Kelly Kroeker

Excellence in Diversity & Inclusion — Paul Lazarony

CSUN Award of Merit — Timothy Boyle, Marisol Garcia and Joaquin Marinez

Student Assistant of the Year — Gerardo Llamas

CSUN Leadership Award — Nick Alexander

Jolene Koester Team Award — HERE Center Badge Project

CSUN Community Engaged Staff Award — Jonathan B. Martinez

CSUN Sustainability Award — Marianne Link


For more information on the awards and award recipients, visit

, , ,