Honored Faculty Receive Accolades

  • President Harrison speaks to honorees.

    President Dianne F. Harrison (at podium) welcomes the attendees of the 2013 Honored Faculty Reception that took place on May 20 in the University Student Union's Grand Salon. Nine faculty were distinguished with awards, and emeritus and faculty completing milestone years of service were recognized for their achievements.

  • A group of select CSUN faculty members gather for a photo.

    Awards are presented each year to a select group of California State University, Northridge faculty members in recognition of their outstanding achievement in a variety of areas. From left: President Dianne F. Harrison; Paula Thomson (Kinesiology), Outstanding Faculty Award; Michael Bryson (English), Preeminent Scholarly Publication Award; Rafi Efrat (Accounting and Information Systems), Distinguished Teaching, Counseling or Librarianship Award; Whitney Scott (Child and Adolescent Development), Distinguished Teaching, Counseling or Librarianship Award; Janet Oh (Psychology), Extraordinary Service Award; Ellie Kazemi (Psychology), Distinguished Teaching, Counseling or Librarianship Award; Julia Heinen (Music), Outstanding Faculty Award; Frankline Augustin (Health Sciences), Visionary Community Service-Learning Award; Richard Mitchell (English), Exceptional Creative Accomplishments Award; and Harold Hellenbrand, provost and vice president for academic affairs. The awards are generously supported by the Office of the President, the CSUN Foundation and the CSUN Center for Community Service-Learning.

  • Newly minted emeritus faculty gather for a photo.

    Thirteen faculty were granted emeritus status at the reception. President Dianne F. Harrison (far left) and Provost Harry Hellenbrand (far right) are standing with six of them: (from left) Joel Zeitlin (Mathematics); William Toutant (Music); Jean Daniels (Social Work); Shawna Dark (Department of Geography Chair), who accepted the title on behalf of Darrick Danta—awarded emeritus status posthumously; James Chiu (Accounting and Information Systems); and Paul Skolnick (Psychology). Not pictured: Guillermo Bartlet (English); Kwant-nan Chow (Mathematics); M. Lawrence Clevenson (Mathematics); Jorge Garcia (Chicana/o Studies); Rie Rogers Mitchell (Educational Psychology and Counseling); Philip Rusche (Educational Leadership and Policy); and Cindy Stern (Philosophy).

  • A group shot of the CSUN panel who administered awards.

    A panel comprised of university administrators presented the awards. From left: Harold Hellenbrand, provost and vice president for academic affairs; William Jennings, interim vice president for university advancement; Elizabeth Adams, associate vice president for undergraduate studies; Hilary Baker, vice president for information technology and chief information officer; Steven Stepanek, faculty president and chair of the Department of Computer Science; President Dianne F. Harrison.

  • Overhead shot of the event attendees.

    About 120 faculty attended the event in recognition of their colleagues.

  • President Harrison, Dianne Philibosian and Harry Hellenbrand.

    Faculty who completed milestone years of service at the 25, 30, 35, 40 and 45 year marks were presented with awards. Dianne Philibosian (Recreation and Tourism Management), pictured with President Dianne F. Harrison (left) and Provost Harry Hellenbrand (right), received accolades for completing 40 years of service to the university.