CSUN President Elected to ACE Board of Directors

  • Portrait of CSUN President Dianne F. Harrison.

    CSUN President Dianne F. Harrison was recently elected vice chair of the Los Angeles County Economic Development Corporation (LAEDC). Photo by Lee Choo.

California State University, Northridge President Dianne F. Harrison’s resume includes a host of prominent leadership positions in national, state and local organizations. Her latest national contribution to higher education will come as a member of the American Council on Education (ACE) Board of Directors.

ACE is the major coordinating body for the nation’s colleges and universities, representing nearly 1,800 college and university presidents and the executives at related associations. ACE works to tackle the toughest higher education challenges, with a focus on improving access and preparing every student to succeed.​​​​​ Harrison was elected to the ACE board for a term ending in March 2021.

ACE advocates on a wide range of issues, including federal funding for student aid, protection for undocumented students and a path to citizenship for international students who would like to remain in the country. In recent years, ACE has led discussions about Pell Grant funding, scientific research, tax proposals and many other issues.

“It is an honor to represent CSUN and our students, faculty and staff by serving on one of the most prestigious education organizations in the country,” Harrison said. “I look forward to advancing solutions that meet the needs and priorities of our diverse campus community. Working with my fellow distinguished members of the ACE board, I will strongly advocate for higher education institutions in California and across the country.”

Harrison has served on more than 80 boards and committees in California and nationally. She chairs the Steering Committee of the Presidents’ Climate Leadership Network and serves as a commissioner on the WASC Senior College and University Commission. She has been appointed twice by California Gov. Jerry Brown to serve on the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education, having been initially appointed in 2011 and having served in 2014 as chair of the commission.

In addition to the ACE board, she serves on the board of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU), the NCAA Board of Governors and the NCAA Division I Board of Directors. Her appointments at the NCAA also include service on the NCAA Board of Governors’ Commission to Combat Campus Sexual Violence, the NCAA Division I Committee on Institutional Performance, and the NCAA Board of Governors’ Committee to Promote Cultural Diversity and Equity, which she chairs.

ACE President Ted Mitchell thanked the newly elected board chair, vice chair and secretary, as well as the board members.

“As a membership organization whose mission is to mobilize the entire higher education community, ACE relies on strong and committed leaders from across the diverse landscape of American colleges and universities to help us chart an effective course,” Mitchell said.